March 17, 2021 @ 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
Alaska Chapter of AI


Desktop Appraisals (Bifurcated, Hybrid) and Evaluations

Instructor: Mark Smetlzer V

As the world changes, so do processes and methods used in many businesses including the appraisal profession. While alternative appraisal services like bifurcated, hybrid, and desktop appraisals and evaluations aren’t new, they are becoming more popular. Many appraisers are uncertain about the general requirements of each service, how appraisal standards might apply, and how these services might create liability. This seminar will provide more clarity about the different services being requested and help you to decide if these services are for you. It will review the expectations of alternative appraisal services, potential uses, appraisal standard implications, scope of work, and liability concerns as it applies to residential and commercial assignments. And it will review evaluation formats and the business opportunities for them.

Describe desktop appraisals, such as bifurcated and hybrid, and learn how and when they are used.
•Discover how real estate collateral is used inside federally regulated banks and financial institutions.
•Review the significant Federal and State laws governing all valuations — appraisals and evaluations — used for loan originations, modifications, and other subsequent transactions.
•Identify appraisal standards, Interagency Guidelines, lender requirements, and state law requirements for credentialed appraisers.
•Recognize the development and reporting differences that differentiate appraisals from evaluations and desktop valuation services.

Student Materials
Student materials included for this course will be downloaded or you can pay an additional fee to order them and have them shipped to you when you register.

Education Credits
Full attendance of this course: 7 hrs CE from the Appraisal Institute. 7 hrs CE from Alaska State

Attendance Requirements
100% attendance is required for all Appraisal Institute education programs. This follows Appraiser Qualifications Board minimum criteria requirements. A “classroom hour” is defined as 50 minutes out of each 60 minute segment. A 10-minute break per hour is allowed and a student would still meet the 100% attendance requirement. Students should not be late or leave early; if they are late or leave early, they will not receive credit.

COVID & Virtual Allowances
Your camera/video feed must remain on during the entire class in order to be compliant with 100% attendance. Per the State of Alaska, any LIVE virtual class is being allowed to count as in-person classroom hours for CE until further notice.

If you need to pay by check or are a government employee and will need an invoice or other considerations, contact the chapter office at (907) 748-8848.

$150.00 Appraisal Institute Member
$175.00 Non-member

Please click the “Register” button on the top right of this page, when the appraisal page loads, scroll to the bottom and choose Alaska as your state to load the classes.